Help Desk -
9958816305, 9810335381

New Members for the Supervisory Board of thyssenkrupp AG

Steel News - Published on Fri, 13 Dec 2019

Image Source:
thyssenkrupp AG Supervisory Board is proposing three new candidates to the Annual General Meeting on January 31, 2020 in Bochum, Ms Birgit A Behrendt, Dr Bernhard Günther and Ms Friederike Helfer as Dr Bernhard Pellens, Carola von Schmettow and Jens Tischendorf are not standing for re election

Ms Birgit A Behrendt, 60, is an experienced industrial manager who trained as an apprentice at Ford Germany, gained a business degree, and rose to the role of Vice President, Joint Ventures and Alliances on the Executive Board of Ford Europe from 2017 to 2019. From 2013 Ms Behrendt was a Corporate Officer of Ford Motor Company and for many years head of global purchasing including supplier quality management at the group’s headquarters in Dearborn in USA. She has been a member of the supervisory board of Kion AG, Frankfurt since 2015 and supervisory board member of Ford Werke GmbH and Ford Holding GmbH, Cologne since 2004, with breaks.

Dr Bernhard Günther, 52, has been Chief Financial Officer of innogy SE, Essen since 2016. Most recently Dr Günther was responsible among other things for the integration project relating to the merger with EON. As CFO at RWE from 2013 to 2016, Dr Günther prepared the carve-out and IPO of innogy SE. Dr Günther’s career at RWE began in 2001 in the controlling department, followed by various roles within RWE Trading & Supply. Previously he had gained a PhD in economics and worked for several years for McKinsey as a management consultant for the auto sector, logistics and IT.

Ms Friederike Helfer, 43, is a partner of Cevian Capital. She is head of the investment company’s Swiss office. She has been with Cevian since 2008 and as a senior member of the pan-European investment team focuses particularly on industrial companies. Ms Helfer is a non-executive member of the Board of Directors of Vesuvius plc, a global leader in molten metal flow engineering and technology. Before joining Cevian, Ms Helfer was a consultant at McKinsey from 2004 to 2008. Ms Helfer has two degrees, an MSc in real estate development from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a Dipl Ing in urban planning from the Vienna University of Technology. She is also a Chartered Financial Analyst.

The current shareholder representatives Prof Dr Siegfried Russwurm, Dr Wolfgang Colberg, Dr Ingrid Hengster and Angelika Gifford are standing for re-election at the Annual General Meeting. Ms Martina Merz, Supervisory Board Chairwoman up to September 30, 2019 and currently delegated by the Supervisory Board to the Executive Board of thyssenkrupp AG for a maximum twelve-month period, is also to be re-elected to the Supervisory Board at the Annual General Meeting. It is planned that on her return Martina Merz will again chair the Supervisory Board. It is to be proposed that until then the Supervisory Board elect Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm as its chairman immediately after the Annual General Meeting.

Source :

Posted By : Rabi Wangkhem on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
Related News from Steel segment